Personal tools
You are here: Home About Us The Board of Health
Document Actions

The Board of Health

Established in 1914, the Board of Health for the Essex Border Municipalities promoted and protected the health of 50,000 residents in four municipalities - Ford, Walkerville, Windsor and Sandwich. Over time, programs and services have evolved. Eventually all remaining municipalities of Essex County joined the Metro Windsor-Essex County Health Unit Board of Health. The name of the agency was changed to Windsor-Essex County Health Unit in 1984.

Windsor-Essex County Health Unit logo

The Board of Health is the governing body that oversees delivery of Mandatory Programs and Service Guidelines set by the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long Term Care, Ministry of Health Promotion, and Ministry of Children and Youth Services under the Health Protection  and Promotion Act  legislated by the Government of Ontario. On behalf of the Board of Health, the Medical Officer of Health administers the public health programs and services congruent with the Mission and Vision of the Health Unit

Currently, Dr. G. Allen Heimann (Medical Officer of Health) and the 200 plus employees of the Windsor-Essex County Health Unit continue to work under the fiduciary guidance of the Board of Health, which is composed of four representatives from the City of Windsor, four representatives from the County of Essex and Pelee Island and up to seven provincial representatives. The Board of Health includes:

  • Kenneth Blanchette, Provincial Appointee
  • Mark Carrick, County Appointee
  • Eleanor Groh, Provincial Appointee
  • Percy Hatfield, City Appointee 
  • Ron Jones, City Appointee
  • Irek Kusmierczyk, City Appointee
  • Penny Marrett, Provincial Appointee
  • Gary McNamara, County Appointee (Chair)
  • Richard Meloche, County Appointee
  • Robert Modestino, Provincial Appointee
  • Lynda Monik, Provincial Appointee (Vice-Chair)
  • Hilary Payne, City Appointee
  • Ed Sleiman, City Appointee 
  • Tamara Stomp, County Appointee
  • Michelle Watters, Provincial Appointee


2014 Regular Meeting Schedule

Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: